Man wearing Glasses and wearing a blue suit with a red tie

Stuart Rabinowitz, Esq.

Stuart Rabinowitz joins Mediation Solutions after more than 50 years at Hofstra University, where he served his last 20 years as University President, having retired in 2021. Before serving as President of the University, he was a distinguished professor of law and then served for more than 20 years as the Dean of the Maurice A. Deane School of Law.

Currently, he is Senior Counsel to Meltzer, Lippe, Goldstein & Breitstone, LLP, where his practice focuses on state and federal litigation, appellate litigation, constitutional law, civil rights law, voting rights law, education law, including higher education and labor relations.

Under Stuart’s leadership, Hofstra University received new regional, national and international visibility. He created several new schools, including the Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell, the Hofstra/Northwell School of Nursing and Physician Assistant Studies, the Fred DeMatteis School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, the Peter S. Kalikow School of Government, Public Policy and International Affairs, and the School of Health Professions and Human Services. He also founded the University’s National Center for Suburban Studies and the Center for Entrepreneurship. In recognition of Stuart’s outstanding contributions to Hofstra University, it has named its Honors College after him and his wife Nancy.

Stuart was also instrumental introducing Hofstra University to a national audience, bringing three consecutive presidential debates (2008: Obama/McCain, 2012: Obama/Romney, 2016: Trump/Clinton) to the Hofstra campus, making Hofstra the only university in the U.S. to have hosted that many consecutive presidential debates.

In addition to Stuart's experience and significant accomplishments at Hofstra University, Stuart worked at Rosenman & Colin LLP for a number of years and as an Associate Professor in law at his Alma Mater, Columbia Law School.

Outside of Hofstra University, Stuart has held numerous leadership positions. He is a former member of the board of directors of the Long Island Association and was Co-Vice Chair of the Long Island Regional Economic Development Council. He currently serves as a member of the New York State Casino Location Board. He has received many awards for his service.

Stuart received a juris doctor, magna cum laude, from Columbia University School of Law, where he was a member of the board of editors of the Columbia Law Review and a Harlan Fiske Stone Scholar. He graduated from the City College of New York with honors and is a member of Phi Beta Kappa.

Mediating and Arbitrating Cases In:

  • Commercial litigation
  • Education law, including employment issues
  • Civil rights


Martin Luther King Living the Dream Award, EOC

Distinguished Service in the Cause of Justice, Legal Aid Society

UJA Federation Leadership Award

Bar Association of Nassau County Proclamation for Outstanding Service to the Legal Profession and the Community

Conference of Jewish Organizations of Nassau County, Community Service Award

Alumni Association of the City College of New York, Townsend Harris Medal (2005)

David Award, Networking magazine

Chief Executive Leadership Award, the CASE, District II,

Higher Education Power 50, New York City and New York State (2020)

Long Island Power 100 (2020)

Doctor of Laws, honoris causa, Claflin University

Memberships and Professional Activities

New York State Casino Location Board

New York State Commission on Continuing Legal Education

Former member of the board of directors, Long Island Association

Co-Vice Chair, Long Island Regional Economic Development Council

Phi Beta Kappa

Professional Experience

President Emeritus, Hofstra University (2001-2021)

Dean, Hofstra University Maurice A. Deane School of Law (1989-2001)

Distinguished Professor of Law, Hofstra University Maurice A. Deane School of Law

Attorney, Rosenman & Colin LLP

Associate Professor in Law, Columbia Law School


Columbia University School of Law, magna cum laude (J.D., 1969)

City College of New York, Phi Beta Kappa, cum laude (B.A., 1966)